Why I Joined Students of the World-Clayton

By: Clayton Johnson

I joined Students of the World because of its dedication to telling stories that matter. But that wasn’t what got me interested in the beginning.

When I transferred to UNC and became a Tar Heel, I immediately began looking for experiences. Experiences that would benefit my future and my time here as a student. Experiences that would expand my horizons beyond classwork and lectures.

A friend of mine told me about Students of the World. As I began to work with the organization, I was worried about what I could contribute. Starting out with SOW, I spent time getting acquainted with our theme for the semester – education, specifically education in the prison system.

It was during that time that I realized how I could experience Students of the World. SOW isn’t a group for un-invested members. It’s a group for those dedicated to social change and who are willing to take charge. SOW equips you to pave the way to your passions. Now, it’s just a matter of finding enough time in the hectic free-for-all that is “college” to put all that I’ve learned to good use.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

